The Fondation Théodore Strawinsky is a non-profit foundation, founded in 1991 by Denise Strawinsky, the widow of the painter Théodore Strawinsky. It is listed on the Geneva Commercial Register and its members are selected by co-optation.


Board Members

Luc-Régis GILBERT, architect and town planner, Ecole d'Architecture de Paris – Val de Seine, President
Olivier DUNANT, lawyer at the Geneva Bar, Secretary
Magali JUNET, art historian and curator
Yvan LALANNE BERDOUTICQ, ambassador of the Sovereign Order of Malta
Philippe LÜSCHER, art historian and curator
Nicole MEYSTRE SCHAEREN, historian and archivist
Henry MORGAN, wealth manager
Marie STRAWINSKY, granddaughter of the painter and President of the Fondation Igor Stravinsky


Honorary Members

†Pierre von Allmen (2000)
†Albert van Daalen (2017)



The Fondation Théodore Strawinsky honours the memory of the artist (1907-1989) by preserving and promoting his oeuvre. To this end, since 1993, it has organised exhibitions, published catalogues and supported scientific research. In 2014, promotional activities culminated in the publication of a catalogue raisonné, made available to the public and to researchers through an online database.

The Fondation Théodore Strawinsky also fulfils the artist’s wish by granting an annual Théodore Strawinsky prize to a young Painting graduate of the Geneva Haute Ecole d'Art et de Design (HEAD).

In 1997, the Municipality of Montreux in Switzerland and the Fondation Théodore Strawinsky signed an agreement to place the artist’s entire legacy in the Montreux Archives. The Montreux Archives come under the Confederation’s Cultural Heritage Protection programme.